Life after a homecoming

What a whirlwind of a week! My husband returned last Sunday, and we have been going non-stop since. The first day as usual is always filled with lots of excitement and emotions running high. The second day, well we just wanted to sleep in and enjoy the bliss of being together. As our luck would have it, the children just wouldn’t allow it. They were in our room climbing over daddy practically before zero dark thirty. Alright, so maybe it wasn’t that early.

It goes without saying that the kids are happy to have their father home again. He is, after all, their living and breathing jungle gym. He rough-houses with them, chases them around and doesn’t flip out when they drop their dirty socks somewhere. He’s the fun one (most of the time). The novelty is starting to wear off just a bit and things are slowly going back to a routine schedule. He had much of last week off so we could all just hang out and have some family time before he returned to work. Additionally, Friday was one of the girls’ birthday so we enjoyed breakfast out and went to an indoor playground. It was a blast. What was so special about it is that we know to have daddy home for a birthday or any holiday can be a rare thing. We try to make each and everyone as special as we can because they are so precious.

Now, with the homecoming thrill behind us the world here is returning to our normal. The man is really enjoying working out in the yard and getting pumped up for baseball season. The kids are listening to me again (sort of) and I’m hoping it’s a long while before he has to go away again. I’ve always put on a big brave face and shrugged the time apart off as routine and a way to regain some of my independence. Truth be told, though, I love having him home to just be there and watch our children grow together. I know that I’m fortunate to be able to do that and I struggle each and every day when I remember those spouses who aren’t so lucky and my heart sincerely goes out to them.

Here’s to hoping you are enjoying the company of your loved ones or will be soon. 

3 Responses

  1. […] sveres wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptWhat a whirlwind of a week! My husband returned last Sunday, and we have been going non-stop since. The first day as usual is always filled with lots of excitement and emotions running high. The second day, well we just wanted to sleep … […]

  2. I LOVE Homecoming Day!! The days after are always crazy!! MY husband normally has to go right back to work for a few days after a homecoming before he gets “time off”. I always felt like he is here, then “poof” he’s gone again! My favorite day is when we “disagree” about something for the first time. lol It can take weeks, but when we do, we just laugh and look at eachother and say, “guess the honeymoon is over!” ; )

  3. I am glad you are finally able to have your sweetheart with you once again! I am sure it feels just wonderful to be together again as a family! So happy for you! HUGS!

Leave a comment