Perspective

It’s the time of year to look around and be thankful for all that we have.  And by that I don’t just mean the material stuff, in fact, I think this time of year the material stuff should matter less and the “other” stuff more.  A few days before Thanksgiving I had a miscarriage, one of the reasons I haven’t been around here much, and it was such a low point.  Times like that, even despite the holidays, it was easier to focus on the negative.  Until my husband snapped me out of it.

We don’t live in a big McMansion, we don’t have luxury cars, we don’t have lots of extra digits in our bank account, in fact if you keep on the notion of what we don’t have it could be pointed out that we don’t often have a lot of time together.  But we do have each other.  And as cliche as it may sound that’s everything.

Being a part of a military family has given me incredible perspective.  Perspective that I don’t know if I would have if flyboy was working nine to five in an office.  I think we appreciate more of the little things.  Every holiday and birthday spent together is special because, well, you don’t know if you’ll be together for the next one.  So much time is spent apart that the time together is what matters.  Not the dollars in the bank or the size of your house.

One Response

  1. 😦 First let me say my heart goes out to you and I’m praying for a gentle healing from the miscarriage. Thank you for sharing such a personal thing, and I imagine anyone who finds this post with share in prayers and well wishes.

    On the other note, DH was gone last Christmas season and it has been wonderful to have him home to do all those things that are so easy to take for granted……like baking together.

    *hugs*

Leave a Reply

