Got Mail?

I’ve been trying to come up with something to do for the boys. So often daddy is here when they go to bed and then when they wake up he’s gone, sometimes for a day or two, sometimes for weeks and weeks. It’s getting to the point that Dash-1 asks every night, usually several times a night, if flyboy will be here tomorrow.

So I’ve been thinking…. what to do…..what to do….

And when I was getting the last can of green beans out of the little box for dinner it hit me.

Mail.

Dash-1 and I (all right so it was mainly me) took the box and wrapped it with brown paper. Careful to leave the little flap because every good mailbox has a door. When it was finished it looked great. Much better then the ones I used to make in grade schools for my valentines. Good to see my crafting has come a long way since then.  But the decorating it was all them.  And you can tell.

The mailbox right now has a place at the corner of the dinning room table. Flyboy puts a little note in it at night and when he’s away I’ll put notes and treats in there from him.

Dash-1 got so excited when he got his first note from flyboy that he was jumping up and down, hugging the letter, and wanted to call flyboy to thank him right away. Apparently dash-1 was so loud on the phone the eight guys that were briefing at that moment could hear him. Dash-2’s excited was a bit more underwhelming but that goes with the age.

Who knows how long they’ll find this exciting. I hope for a while. We’re enjoying it as much as they are.

3 Responses

  1. That is a great idea, and soo cute. I hope they stay excited about it for a long time.

  2. Great idea! I’m so glad they are enjoying it so much. It sounds like you’re an awesome military mama!

  3. What a cute idea! reminds me of the notes my mom used to put in my lunchbox!

Leave a Reply

