CPT Greg Dalessio

When we lived in Germany, I was the officer records clerk for our post/brigade.  I loved my job and one of the main reasons why was the people I served.  I knew almost all of the officers on our small post and enjoyed being able to help them.  They always knew that if they needed anything or had a question, I was there for them.  It was such a pleasure to work with them because they were always so nice and very grateful.  When the brigade deployed, my job became very slow.  Sometimes the officers would email me from downrange and I would help them.  Otherwise, I mainly worked with new officers that were arriving to the brigade.  The first time that the rear detachment came to “pull a file” from my office, my heart sank.  It took all I had to stay professional and keep from crying.  They came to get the file so that they could reference the officer’s emergency contact information.  Unfortunately, the same scenario played out multiple times during that deployment.  It was difficult for me because these were more than just files, I knew each officer that the file represented. 

I recently learned that an officer from our old brigade and post was killed in action in Iraq last month.  He was one of “my” officers and I was sad to hear about his death.  I know all too well that we lose more servicemembers everyday, but I just wanted to bring attention to this man today.  Please pray for the friends and family that CPT Greg Dalessio leaves behind. 

Here is a link with more information about CPT Dalessio: http://www.militarycity.com/valor/3600610.html

3 Responses

  1. I am so sorry to hear about this. His family and loved ones will definitely be in my thoughts and prayers.

  2. Thanks Cristin for this post. My thoughts and prayers are with his family.

  3. http://www.legacy.com/GB/GuestBookView.aspx?PersonID=112294764

    I came across the guest book for CPT Greg Dalessio and thought I’d share it with everyone.

Leave a Reply

