A snazy star

I finally have a service star to put up in my house. Take a look folks and prepare to be jealous.

Isn’t it fantastic?! It’s beautiful if I may say so.

For those who aren’t familiar with the service star flag, it started during World War I and they were originally known as “Sons in Service” flags. A small flag vertical flag was hung in a window with a blue star for each serving son and or husband. If tragedy stuck and a service member was killed in the line of duty a gold star replaced the blue star. At one point there were almost a dozen variations of the service flag for wounded, MIA, captured, distinguished service and a few other outcomes.

Almost six years as a Marine wife and I never had a service flag in the house. As strange as it sounds, I never felt a connection with it. It’s strange that something that is used to proudly display a family’s service and sacrifice never really called out to me.

Until I saw this one.

It didn’t call out to me, it screamed. It’s beautiful, its patriotic, and it was homemade with love by my mother. Well not the frame, we got that at the big W-mart.  But everything else was sewn by my mother, who as you can see is an amazingly crafty gal.

I’m visiting my folks and was flipping thru one of my mother’s quilting magazines while the boys were playing and I saw an article about patriotic sewing for the troops. How could I not turn to it. I saw the blue star wall hanging and immediately asked my mother if she could do. I ran out to the material store to pick out some colors and set the old gal off to work. This woman can turn scraps into a gorgeous handmade quilt so its no doubt that it turned out as beautiful.

I am so excited to get home and get it up on the wall in a place of honor.  I might even wait until flyboy gets home to hang it so I don’t leave five holes around in my wake.

Well done ma! Thank you and I love it more then you know.

6 Responses

  1. It really is beautiful! Your mother did a great job.

  2. That’s beautiful! Ours is hand sewn/quilted also. They are the nicest looking ones in my opinion.

  3. It is absolutely beautiful! Your mom is really talented 🙂

  4. How magnificent. I love it. It puts my faded service star to shame. I must replace it. I’m impressed and inspired by your mother’s work!

    Thanks for sharing.

  5. That is so beautiful. I love it!

  6. I love this! It is gorgeous and means so much that your mom made it!

Leave a Reply

