Snips, Snails, and puppy dog tails …. Chasing Chickens

What?

Thats what I said when my mom and I were picking cucumbers out of her garden while visiting her on the farm.

Hubby and the kids and I were getting prepared to leave the farm and one of my last things to do was to rid my mom’s garden of some free food!  So we were out there going in and out of the many rows of veggies when all of a sudden we hear the dogs barking and the chickens clucking and it all getting faster and louder.  My mom and I look at each other and start running and yelling…  The house dogs (IE: my dogs which are not farm dogs by any means) were let out of the yard by my lovely 5 year old son, and they took off towards the chickens that have been teasing them all weekend.

So my mom and I come running out of the garden yelling at the dogs, trying to get them to come back but they were in chase mode.  So we started running.  Back and forth, around tables under the tent, (that we had set up from the party we had the night before), and in and out of the many out-buildings.  I swear I’ve never seen my dogs run so fast and act so crazy.. They had it in for the chickens.   I was running after my 6 month old APBT (Pit bull), who is actually the sweetest dog I know and who just happened to follow suit and got carried away. It was like chasing a pigglet, every time I’d reach for him he’d get away.  But after what seemed like 5 min. of chasing, we were in the barn and he pounced on the roster (one of two out of the group of chickens) and I grabbed his tail and yanked him off his feet.   40lbs hanging from a tail fell limp… and the roster just laid there.  No, he didn’t kill the roster; he just plucked about every feather from his behind.   While I’m doing this, my brother; who ran out of the fence after the dogs,  cornered my 2 year old  Engilsh Mastiff in the chicken coop and got the leash on him before he could do much harm.  I think he got a mouth full of feathers but that was about it. 

Needless to say we were all out of breath dragging the dogs back to the yard.  My poor son,  got yelled at during the chaos, but seemed to recover quickly.  We arn’t really sure what happened but I don’t think he let the dogs out on purpose;

 he lives for being at the farm and knows that animals don’t go through the gates there.  So I bet they were playing (Nathaniel and the dogs), and Nathaniel had enough and went to leave the yard but the dogs were not finished playing, and in that moment I wouldn’t doubt they barged through the gate. 

So after that work out, we finished up in the garden and the kids, dogs, and Hubby and I piled in the truck to leave…  What a way to say good bye. huh?  LOL

3 Responses

  1. I had to chuckle at your story because I too grew up in the country, on a farm (I so wish my kids could have done the same!)
    But to make a long story short, my parents had a cocker spaniel (Hershey) and he loved everyone including other animals.
    Our neighbors had chickens and they would hang out on our side of fence in the pasture between our home and theirs.
    One day Hershey decided to bring one of the chickens home to my Mom. He was so excited and proud when he dropped that chicken at my Mom’s feet. Needless to say, my poor Mom was none to excited about his new buddy!!
    Funny part was the chicken was also only missing a few tail feathers and maybe some pride at being caught!!
    Moral of the story for the chicken might have been……..the grass is not always greener on the other side of the fence!!
    Anyway, thanks for the smiles and bringing back many of the happy memories of my youth and growing up on the farm. What a great life we had!!

  2. Ah farm life… I can relate. Never thought I would be able to but I can. : )

  3. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

