Relatable?: Random Thoughts of a Military Wife

On this week’s live Navy Wife Radio show (be sure to see the archives), Wendy talked briefly about how she hoped this blog could exhibit some transparency. Here I am thinking, She wants me to be see-through? She wants people to think I’m shallow? No, no, she wants us to be relatable.

Well, what could I tell you about me to draw that connection? I suppose I could tell you that despite my being used to this military life that I cry. Yes, I do break down and have my really horrible moments. I have even been known to want to throw the towel in. These moments are few, but they exist. I’m no different than anyone else. I love the opportunities that we have but I detest many of the struggles. No one said this is easy, and it surely isn’t. I know that there are some folks out there who get fed up with the chain of command and rules and regulations. Count me in your corner, I’m there too. Yes (here’s comes the pun), we are all in the same boat.

I imagine some of you stay at home moms can relate this: I miss the working world, even though I love my children with all of my heart. Truthfully, though, what I would give to don my high heels and suits again and sit through a boring office meeting in lieu of changing diapers or doing yet another load of laundry. I know, I know, I still do this when I’m gainfully employed. Sometimes, I wish a maid would just magically appear before my eyes though. A girl can dream, can’t she?

Oh, here’s another! I have a fantasy about lavish formal dinners where I’m the hostess-with-the-mostess, and my DH is proudly seated at the head of the table regaling people with sea stories. Fat chance! My husband, while he enjoys his coworkers and many longtime military friends, detests formality. He loves to separate work from home and vice versa. Me, I actually have romantic daydreams about a bygone era where the military wife actually did host such gatherings and appear a bit like June Cleaver, Bree Van de Kamp/Hodge or any other fictional woman of perfection. Yes, I would like to work and be the perfect housewife too.

So, there you have it, some random thoughts of a loony military spouse. Maybe I’m not all that relatable, but it’d be interesting to see if I’m not alone.

2 Responses

  1. I was going to leave a comment but it was so long I decided to make a post of it. LOL! So that is my response to your post! HUGS!

  2. Definitely relatable! I sometimes have those “daydreams” too, but then I try to remember the grass is always greener….
    Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

