Hard at work amidst palm trees.

Okay, I’m not really trying to rip on my loving husband, but he’s in a really lovely region right now. Sometimes, it’s hard to empathize with him working long and crazy hours when he’s in a highly desirable area and I’m not. Yes, that’s my jealous bone sticking out. I’ve said it time and again that I really try to keep it at bay, and he even reminds me that his travels are part of a mission. I know. I know. I don’t like to admit it, but I do know. I’ve found the way to really push his buttons just for fun is to say, “Have fun on vacation” when he’s packing to leave. For some reason, he really doesn’t like that. 😉

To give a bit of background: my husband is currently serving as supervisor of a team that works on highly specialized equipment. The team is sent on deployments at odd intervals to make critical systems operational which often has a direct impact on the readiness of a particular fleet of ships. He loves this job, but it takes a toll. The trips are sporadic and can be short but have often been extended beyond the original schedule because of surprise changes or even the lack of communication  up the chain.

Recently he telephoned and explained that this trip had been extended. I should have expected it. After all, I’m not new to this rodeo. I didn’t cry. I didn’t jump up and down. I didn’t say much, except “Get home as soon as you can.” Really I can’t complain, this stint doesn’t usually take him away from home as long as sea duty does, but still, it’s wearing on a girl–especially when he’s in a spectacular travel destination. This particular destination happens to be a place I’ve never been, but he’s been many times over. He says he gets bored with the scenery, especially as he only sees it after long hours sweating in the heat. I imagine that could be true, but I’m still envious.

Can a wife truly not be jealous every now and again? Sure, their jobs are tough and grueling at times. Many times these guys are even in regions where danger is imminent, but it’s the few times that they are in lovely areas that makes you want to rush to your local military recruiting office and sign on the dotted line. Hey, recruiter, send me to the tropics. Send me somewhere nice. We all know how that can go though (BTDT), but I digress.

In his defense (yes, I can be empathetic), he didn’t get off work until 2am this morning, having started at 7am yesterday. It’s been like that this whole trip for these guys. Yes, it stinks. They could be out having a grand old time–lots of fun in the sun, but they are not. They are performing a vital job. So, am I though! (Cue “I Am Mom Hear Me Roar” music) I’m raising three little stinkers and I’d love to be doing it under some palm trees. That might make it seem a little less taxing. 🙂

10 Responses

  1. I know it can be frustrating. My mom’s parents are from an island with lots of palm trees. It seems like EVERYONE in my family has been there….my sister, my mom….my aunts and uncles…etc….when these family trips occur it has never quite worked out for me to go also. My husband on the other hand has been more times than I can count.

    Yes, it is frustrating when the talk about “paradise” happens at family get togethers and my husband can fit right into the conversation while I’m left feeling just a little aggravated! geez!

    I don’t suppose pouring a cold beverage with an umbrella in it would help you “imagine” you are in paradise with him….

    😉

  2. Wendy, have you been peaking in my windows? 😉 I actually enjoyed one of those last week.

  3. I had to go TAD for 6 days to a very nice island one time and I tried to take my wife but she couldn’t get off work. So to make it up to her I bought her a nice diamond ring 🙂

    I have added your blog to my blog roll 🙂
    http://www.navycs.com/blogs/

  4. Just a Girl in a Port: That’s awesome! Daydreaming can be a good thing!

    NavyCS: Welcome to the blog and gosh….I hope my DH comes home with something shiny next time he is in paradise, what a lucky girl! I briefly checked out your site and it looks very interesting, thanks for adding us to your blogroll. 🙂

    Happy Anniversary! I wish I could of also had dinner in Mexico, although I think that restaurant in France is my favorite….they have awesome French Onion Soup! I LOVE Epcot!

  5. Morocco is now my new favorite EPCOT restaurant – amazing food, the flavors are well orchestrated.

    Thank you for visiting my blog 🙂 I started the site as an experiment while serving at Navy Recruiting Command – been my hobby ever since. I get a couple thousand visitors a day to the site (main section and Gallery) and my blog readership has grown slow but sure to about 100 a day (according to the famous WP stats :))

    I retired in Dec 06 after a little over 26 years in – Started as an ET and finished up as a NC (CRF)

  6. I will definitely have to go back and read more……those stats are very impressive. I just love worpress! Congrats on your retirement, 26 years is amazing. We are in Millington now and although I didn’t want to like it here, it has grown on me.

    I can’t remember ever eating in Morocco, I’ll have to be a little adventurous and try it next time we are at EPCOT. 🙂

  7. Oh gosh, where to start….My husband is visiting a beautiful port, for opsec reasons I won’t say where and for how long. I planned on posting about it after the fact. You know, once the Navy Times has all the pictures up!? lol

    I just want to say that I am EXTREMELY envious of my husbands location!!! I cannot wait to see all the pictures. And my poor husband said that he turned to another guy when on a tour to say, “did you see that!?” thinking in his head that he would see me next to him….awwwww!! ;( He did however say that there are many pretty things to bring home!!! Oh I can’t wait to see what my presents are! lol

    I have to say that it is a nice perk! I love different and unique things…..

    Navy CS- WELCOME!!! And I ate in Morocco at Epcot . . . It was very good!
    I look forward to returning this year. The husband and I may even get there for some alone time. Whatever that is, I can’t remember! 😉

  8. Millington? I live in Bartlett!

  9. navycs….um….I think we might be neighbors! small world……

  10. Wendy, email sent 🙂

Leave a Reply

