Back in Baby’s Arms

Hello everyone!

I’m thrilled to be here blogging with this great group of ladies. I’ll be brief tonight, but I wanted to do a quick check-in and introduce myself. As you may have read, I’m a Coast Guard wife. Once upon a time, I served in the Marine Corps. So, in a sense, I’m already a part of this family since the Marines falls under the Department of the Navy. That works, for you, right?

Today, my brevity is a direct result of the wonderfulness that the military life can offer. What is that you may ask? Well, it’s the homecoming reunions, of course. My husband just returned this afternoon, and as I type, he is snoring on the couch snuggled up with one of our children (who just couldn’t get enough daddy time today). The house has been abuzz with excitement since he got back, and I feel whole again. I know so many of you can relate to that feeling.

Perhaps one the best parts of homecoming time is the peace that comes over me. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a frantic mess the day before and the morning of getting things ready (house cleaning, shopping, laundry, etc.). I even find that I still get anxious right up until the moment I see him. My mind is reeling with thoughts. Will he like my outfit? Did he miss me and the kids nearly as much as we missed him? Will we reconnect quickly or will there be an awkward period? How are the kids going to react? We all have most of these kinds of questions, I imagine.

The peace sets in when we are back at home though. When I know I’m with my partner again, and I can breathe for a moment. I don’t have to have two kids on my hips while cooking dinner and answering the phone. I don’t have to walk the dog every single time she starts yelping to relieve herself. I don’t have to be super-mom anymore. I will go to bed next to him instead of the telephone. Overall, though, I can just breathe and be me. How peaceful.

With that, I’m going to log off here and tuck the snuggly little one into bed, get into some jammies and enjoy my peace with my darling husband.

Thank you for welcoming me into your family. I look forward to sharing some more of my part of this amazing military life with you as time goes on.

3 Responses

  1. WELCOME JEN!! Glad to have you!! 😉

    Enjoy your husband and family and I look forward to reading more!!

  2. Hey Jen so happy we have another blogger. I can’t wait to read your posts! HUGS!

  3. Homecoming has such a warm feeling and a sense of happiness tone to it..:)

Leave a Reply

