Only in the Military

So, this week I had the dreaded yearly GYN. appointment but when I called my regular babysitter to watch the kids she wasn’t available. I thought to myself, “Well, I guess I will call my back up!” So, I give her a call and dog gone it she had to work too! Being a very serious person about who I will and will not leave my children with I had no other choice…but to take them with me. YES! I took my kids to my GYN appointment. 


On the drive there I was already preparing myself for the dirty looks from the doctors and the comments under the breath from the nurses. Surprisingly, they were the complete opposite of what I had been anticipating! The nurse was extremely polite and when I mentioned to her the reason why I took my kids with me (more for my conscience sake than for anything else) she just took us back to the exam room and mentioned with a smile that she could distract them and close the curtain so that I could have the “Obvious” privacy I would need.  Whew, I breathed in a sigh of relief!

While we waited for the doctor to enter the room, once again I found myself obsessing over the various excuses I was going to give the doctor as an explanation/apology for bringing my children. “I had no other choice…” I thought, “I have already had to reschedule this appointment once.”  

Enter the doctor, a calm and relaxed lady by nature. Casually, she greets the kids and closes the curtains so the children are on the other side.  Right away she began to just go on and on about how well behaved my children were and how she just was so surprised at how good they were. They sat nicely in their stroller playing with their own toys and getting along well. I felt as though I was in the twilight zone.  I thought, “Can this really be happening?” but I was relieved, to say the least! 

 I absolutely had to make this appointment and all I can say is that never would have been pulled off in the civilian world. Thank goodness for an understanding medical staff at the Local Naval Hospital’s OB/GYN clinic because of their kindness and understanding (given the situation and especially while the hubby is deployed) a military spouse and mother now has one less thing to stress out about! Glad I don’t have to do that for another year!  
4 Responses

  1. That is AWESOME!!! I’m glad you went. I’m more than a few years over due and I need to go. After reading your post, I can say that I don’t have any excuse!! I just need to go. I’ll get the referral process started this week!

    I’m so proud of you for not canceling! Go Jessica!! lol ; )

  2. I’ve so been there. My doctors thought I was nuts, but I had no other option. You really lucked out. What a great way for them to help you handle the situation.

  3. Who can control babysitter schedules??! I’m so glad you shared and they were great about it!

  4. I know, scary huh? LOL! Glad everything worked out for the best in the long run!

Leave a Reply

