Long Time No See!

Sorry I haven’t posted in a while, I’ve got a ton going on.  Just a few things on my list of things that I’ve been doing are:

-Surgery Recovery (Going great by the way)

-Looking to buy a house (what a headache at times, but I’m sure it will be worth it in the end.)

-Volunteering for COMPASS (The most wonderful program Navy Spouses have to offer to other spouses!)

-Volunteering for Crafts and Conversation at Kings Bay Sub base Chapel.  (A fantastic program running on Thursday Mornings for military spouses, with free child care offered at the CDC!!)

-Going back to night school (I had to stop going for a few months prior to and after my surgery)

-I lost my Grandmother the day after my surgery. (She had Cancer but past away because of a heart attack) I had to go up to South Dakota shortly after my surgery.

-We lost a cat that I’ve had since I was 14.  He had a lot of health complications, so it was probably for the best.

– We got a new puppy and before that adopted another cat (I know we are crazy!)

-We’ve had family visiting almost non-stop for multiple reasons

-Oh and I also started doing an at home study diploma program. 

-And I’ve been working for my Dad from home to make a little extra cash 

Hubby, luckily has been home since his short TAD in December and hopefully will not go anywhere for a while. 

While my plate is full, since my surgery I have been feeling really good.  It’s still amazing to me that Tricare paid in full for my surgery!   That has to be the best thing I’ve ever gotten out of Tricare.   There is no way I would have been able to afford it any other way. 

Speaking of my surgery; recovery has been going well.  I have almost no open wounds, just a few spots still healing.  Besides that it seems that all is going great!  My only problems are stretching and lifting, those two things still are a little sore to do.  I haven’t been very active since the surgery and that has become a bit of a problem…. I’ve gained some weight.  So now the goal is to start working out! 

Luckily the base gym has just started a mommy and me class!!  I think I’m going to check that out when things settle down a bit!  

OK well I am going to try to stay up to date and be active on here again!  I’m sorry that I’ve been out of the loop; I look forward to catching up on everything I’ve missed.

3 Responses

  1. WOW! you have been through a lot in a short amount of time! I sure hope things start to settle down for you soon! I really enjoy reading the blog here! It is just so encouraging to keep in touch with other military spouses! Best wishes to you!

  2. Great to hear everything is going well! I’m so sorry to hear about your grandmother. And also, your childhood pet. My cat just recently passed away as well. I had him since I was 9-11ish. He wasn’t with me though. He stayed with my parents.
    I hope you join Wendy and I on our weight loss adventure! ;o) I’ll be working out at the rec center here in town. They include child care in their membership fee if you are interested! It’s $21.50 a month. And that also gives you unlimited access to the pool all year for you and you’re children! It’s cheaper for us to belong to the rec center than it is to pay to swim on base. Crazy, huh? Good luck and it’s great to have you blogging! :O)

  3. Hi Megan – Sorry to hear about your grandmother…..and about your cat…it is so hard to lose people (and pets) we love.

    I’m glad to hear you are recovering well from your surgery.

    Great to see back on the blog and I’m looking forward to hearing about your adventures. You’ll have to consider doing a post or two about exactly what Compass is and why we should take the class / be a mentor. 🙂 (You might have already done this?? but it would be a great refresher for us all.) 🙂

Leave a Reply

