The Deployment Countdown

We are in the countdown phase to the DH’s deployment. Here on the blog we don’t discuss boat movements , so nothing is written is real time about the days before a deployment. The buildup, the shopping of last minute items, the anxiety, and the influx of family members who arrive to spend that last bit of time with you and your Sailor…etc.

Since this deployment is not boat related, I have the luxury of writing about it here and sharing a bit of my thoughts.

Soon DH will be leaving for his IA to Afghanistan. First in the stop is Norfolk for a few days, then South Carolina for training and then finally over to Kuwait for more training before arriving in country.

Earlier I posted a story about the USS Key West just returning home from a 7 month deployment. I keep telling myself the next 13 months will be like one 6 month and one 7 month deployment. That sounds much better doesn’t it?

My posts here have not been as often as I have had house guests this week and as luck would have it a few urgent work projects that needed some attention. With all of that now completed we have the long weekend together to just hang out. House projects are done, we have had friends and neighbors over for dinner for the “goodbye” parties and have done all the “deployment” shopping.

The biggest difference in preparing for this deployment is the lack of connection with other wives who will be leaving with my husband. I really didn’t think much of it until about the last month. About a week ago Sarah Smiley was on the show and she said something that really hit me. We were talking about the benefits of spouse groups / family readiness groups and her thoughts were….”no body understands what you are going through like your spouse club, not a spouse club, or not another spouse, but your spouse club because they are ones that are in it the same time as you are”.

When DH did his check out with his command he came home with two business cards. His civilian boss and his military boss. It’s hard for me to believe that after five years of this GWOT there isn’t something set up that connects IA families together on a command level and not just a 800# to call, a website to visit or your DH’s boss’ #.

Maybe I should I call the bosses and see if they want to have coffee?! I would love to give them an earful.

Is your DH on an IA? What has your experience been with his command? Send me an email and sound off at wendy(at)submarinewife.com

or leave me a comment!

3 Responses

  1. You know my husband isn’t IA… yet.. but I wanted to ask if you have a FFSC or other military support center close by that may have an IA spouse or family group monthly meeting. In norfolk they do and it has helped so many people, I’m not so sure about KB because I haven’t been to this FFSC that much, but I would hope that more of the FFSCs are doing this around the country. I always forget where you are located, but I thought I’d ask if you’ve checked that out.
    Also have you called your current Ombudsman (the command your husband checked out of, if they have one) and asked about any groups for IAs that she may know of; at hubby’s last command I had to go through advacned training about IAs and as ombudsman I had a good amount of info about IA groups and such in our local area. Your current Ombudsman is still considered your Ombudsman, unless there is an IA specific Ombudsman in your area; and if there is an IA specific Ombudsman in your area your current ombudsman should be able to give you her contact info.
    I know this wasn’t what you asked for, since I have no experiance but I hope you don’t mind.

  2. I think about you and this situation just about every day. I was hoping that our husbands would go through this at the same time so that we could go through it as wives and friends together, but it looks like you are going to be the “experienced one” by the time my husband goes for one of the “long ones”.

  3. Megan, you should be my Ombudsman….you are such a problem solver. I love that! I have checked in with the FFSC and they did have a day where they made care packages to send to the guys. I’ll see what else I can find out.

    and Marie….thanks for letting me vent….I’m sure I’ll meet someone whose husband is in Afgh with mine and then we can all learn from her! 🙂

Leave a Reply

