Coping with deployment

Revamping the boat is finally done and all the guys are itching to go back to sea and do their thing. Deployment loomed overhead but we all knew it was coming. Underways built up to deployment but yet it was still months away.

     All the while I’m trying to figure out how on earth I’m going to cope with deployment and what would help keep us close while we are so far apart. I decided that we both needed a journal. I figured that it would be a good idea if we started writing in our journals prior to deployment and that during deployment we would write as often as we could. It was a way that we could write our feelings down and help ourselves cope with the separation.

     I began writing in mine after the first pre-deployment meeting. I wasn’t able to go to the meeting due to being in the middle of a move, but a friend of mine called with all the information I needed. After reviewing the information I was a little nervous so what better thing to do than to write down what I was feeling. I continued writing just about every night. I wrote what I was worried about as far as our relationship went, how we would cope with homecoming, what my husbands would be doing overseas and what I would be doing back at home… anything and everything I thought of concerning deployment went down in my journal.

     The nights I couldn’t sleep I would write which would help ease my restless mind. On top of writing in my journal, once deployment rolled around, I would write a page to a letter that would be sent to my husband every week. I found that writing as often as possible, which for me was once a day was a way for me to cope with deployment. One could say that I used it as a form of therapy.

     For anyone who is in the middle of deployment or is gearing up for deployment and has worries or fears about it, take a few minutes out of your day and write. Whether you open up a word document and start typing, start a blog on the web, open up a notebook or journal, or writing a letter to your husband (whether you can send it or not) expressing your feelings… just do it. You may find it as a relief to get out some emotions that are all bottled up. You don’t have to be a professional writer, have good handwriting or even spell well… just give it a try and see what comes of it.

2 Responses

  1. I write every night to my husband while he is out. I found that I couldn’t remember everything that happened while he was deployed. . .so, I would scribble down our daily events and adventures which I would then send if there was a mail drop. If there wasn’t a drop, he could read it when he came home. I also always write emails. Even if I know He isn’t getting them. . .It’s just good therapy!!

  2. Last deployment I wrote so much. I wrote family grams, emails, snail mail, letters for mail drop (when we had them), and in a journal. It was my way to get everything out. My husband was and is the person that i’ve always turned to with all my feelings, so since he wasn’t here during deployment I wrote about everything. In turn he was always one of the guys who got something each time they pulled into port (snail mail, and mail drop)and each time they down-loaded email(if it woeked) and family grams; and if all else failed he had the journal at home to read when he returned from deployment.
    For me it was just as much him needing to hear from me as it was me needing to get it all out.

Leave a Reply

