LIVE from the Quarterdeck of the Navy

My wireless internet connection seems to be working for the moment, so I’m going to attempt a quick post while we are here in Great Lakes.

The quarterdeck of the Navy. How do I know I am at “the quarterdeck of the Navy”? It is plastered ALL over the place. Maybe you are like me and have never been to Great Lakes. Who knew?!

I’m surprised Im not lost on one of the MANY installations this place has. There seems to be a gate on every corner. I have counted three NEX’s, I’m thinking there might be even more.

I’ve sort experienced “culture shock”, as we maneuver around this most Navy town. It’s been awhile since I’ve been on such a large installation.

The purpose of our trip??

We’ll our oldest graduated from Boot Camp this past Friday. We decided to take our summer vacation late and have been wandering around the area the past week causing the 11yr. old to already miss school. Welcome to life in the military.

We left our hotel room at O dark 30 and before long I was feeling like a mouse in a maze as we weaved in and out of car lines, parking lines, this building and that building until finally we arrived at our final destination. Whew!

Our former “recruit” is now officially “a Sailor”, the ceremony was really impressive. Lots of proud Mom’s and Dad’s filled the graduation hall (I’m sure there is some cool name which I can’t recall just now). I was not alone in wiping away the tears, it was a pretty emotional morning. The lady next to me was extremely emotional and made it difficult for me to not loose total control and start what Oprah calls “the ugly cry”.

MedK will be here another 2 weeks and then after some leave time off to Oceana, VA.

We left 105 degree heat and were happy to find sunny skies and 80 degrees when we arrived. Today it is in the high 60’s and drizzling. I’m actually enjoying the break in the heat!

I have some photos to post, but that will be when I get back home.

Leave a Reply

