MR. Mom

When we arrived at our new duty station, I gave a lot of thought about going back to school. My biggest problem with my decision was that my husband would have to do dinner time and bed time all on his own, 5 days a week. Can he really handle it all? Ok, I know it’s not a lot, but 5 days a week for 14 months may be too much for my submariner.

Well I’m proud to say that I did end up going back to school for an AOS. I picked a profession that will move very easily with our constant PCSing and it’s something that I’ve always wanted to do, Massage Therapy. My husband has been very supportive of my decision, even with the kids challenging him at every corner.

I don’t think I will ever let him live down the first week, ‘hell week’, as I now refer to it. My son decided that he was going to test the waters and instead he just dove into the deep end. I would come home from school with my husband lying on the couch looking completely worn out. OK, I knew it was going to be hard to handle, but it can’t be that hard…. or could it?

During that first week I heard stories of ‘soda making’ in the bath room after bed time (our four year old taking it upon him self to open our daughter’s gate so she could join in on the fun) which resulted in a fan needing to be placed on the carpet in the hall overnight so it would dry. My son playing doctor with the A&D ointment, everything from tables, doors, and walls, as well as just about every toy in the play room had boo boos and needed ‘medicine’ (To this day I am still finding A&D on things). And last but not least my son also trying out a career in cosmetology with the help of a whole bottle of baby oil (the jell kind), It must have taken 7 days to get all that baby oil out of my daughter’s hair.

Since that first week things have calmed down a bit, and my husband seems to have it under control. At times while I’m at school, I picture him with a utility belt (a bit like Vin Diesel in the Pacifier) carrying bottles and sippy cups, wipes and diapers, and all other essential items including the ever so popular candy used for bribing.

So for his service as Mr. Mom I would like to give him a round of applause! (Only 12 more months to go Mr. Mom, LOL)

One Response

  1. How ironic that we both post about going to school! Thanks for the advice! Any help or suggestions I can get is much appreciated! I’ll definitely have to check and see if our little base has any resources to help me! THANKS SO MUCH!!!

Leave a Reply

