A little about justasubwife

My name is Megan; I’m a military dependent of 24 years. Both of my parents were in the Marines and my husband, who I’ve been with for just over four years, is a Navy Submariner. I have 3 kids a 4 year old boy (who bounces off walls), a 19 month old girl (who starts fights with the 4 year old, and has an attitude 3 times her size), and a 5 month old boy (who has no clue what he is in for). Hubby and I just recently started our shore duty tour coming from the fast attack community, and what a change… I’ll tell you a secret, I miss boat life.

While hubby was on the fast attack we did two six month deployments, uncountable under-ways, and about 6 months of shipyard. Also I had volunteered as a vice president for the Family Support Group for a short time and had been an Ombudsman for 7 months until we had to leave on orders.

Currently I’m going back to school to become a Massage Therapist; I’m about 3 months into a 14 month degree program. Between school and the kids, if I have time I’m watching a movie, quilting, trying to get something to grow on my back porch garden, or doing a number of other crafts. I’m full of stories and love to answer questions about my life or military life in general.

4 Responses

  1. You are one busy woman. I need a nap after reading all of that. Being on shore duty, I can relate to “the secret”. I do have to say though…it is nice having a summer with him home….that part I love. 🙂

  2. I really do love having him at home more, and I know the kids don’t want him back on the boat. I guess for me, shore duty is just a bit boring.

  3. I’m sure there are women reading this and thinking…..I can’t wait for shore duty and can’t imagine thinking it’s boring. Sharing perspectives is a great thing. So…for the wife who hasn’t had her hubby home on shore duty (Marie), just wait. Whenever the hubby and I disagree on something and I’m venting to her, she always whispers (shore duty) and giggles. Yes, it is lovely to have them home, but then yep….they are home ALL the time. It’s an adjustment, but a good one I think. 🙂

  4. Welcome Megan! I look forward to reading more!! No shore here, we extended. * Fun stuff.

    **Note sarcasm, ; )

Leave a Reply

