Elmo Deployment DVD

elmo.jpgSesame Street Video focuses on Deployment issues and is Free for military members.

Read here and here for more information.

From military.com

The Sesame Street Special “When Parents are Deployed” will be re-broadcast April 9, 2007 on PBS stations across the country. This primetime special, hosted by Cuba Gooding, Jr., reveals candid and intimate moments with the parents, caregivers and children impacted by deployment. For more information check your local television listings or you can download the program at the Sesame Workshop website. DVDs and print packages in English and Spanish are available to military parents at no cost through the Military OneSource website to help military families and children cope with the various phases of deployment.

If you are thinking about ordering the DVD, I went ahead and ordered a copy via the OneSource website and it was pretty easy, less that 3 min. to complete the process.    The concept is great and Im sure lots of families will benefit from this!

5 Responses

  1. Just make sure that you watch the video first w/o the child, so that you are prepared to answer some questions they may have. I haven’t seen the video, but I was told that it was aimed toward the surface fleet?? So they talk about calling their dad/mom, etc, which in the sub fleet doesn’t happen. If some one has watched the video, please comment! 🙂 Let us know what you thought!

  2. it might be that my daughter is still too young to understand the different ship from a sub i mean she knows that daddy is on a boat not a ship but she did not ask me any questions regarding the dad mom thing but it is on there

  3. Sorry, lol I wasn’t very clear! I apologize! 🙂
    Some women were talking about their kids watching the video and wanting to call their dad b/c I guess it mentions it in the video that it is ok for your parent(s) to be away and that you can still talk to them on the phone. (we can’t do that on subs, of course) I think some kids say around 3+ may have wanted to “call” after watching the video, like I said, I haven’t seen it. My kids are getting older. 🙂 I just knew it was a good video, but that some children were confused. I’m sure it is still a great thing for kids!

  4. Ok, I’ve had the DVD sitting on my kitchen bar for about 2 weeks….something about watching Elmo and not having a 3 year old in the house just doesn’t sound like fun.

    But, for you all ladies I WILL watch the DVD and report back my findings / review / thoughts.

  5. We have this video and it was the absolute greatest help during my 5-year-old’s first “official” deployment (meaning old enough to show emotion). I watched it first and just cried my eyes out but we saved the viewing for my daughter when she and daddy could watch together a couple nights before deployment – as for the “calling” daddy issue – it was something we had to cover in her questions and had to explain how each boat was different and daddy’s boat goes under the water so there were no phones because they would scare all the fish or something similar to that – that she would understandingly accept.

    Then on our halfway night – my daughter and I watched it again & I answered questions yet again, and then right before homecoming she wanted to see again what Elmo did for his daddy :).

    Overall, I think the video was a great tool for our entire family – and, in fact, my daughter and daddy exchanged a special gift to keep just like Elmo and his dad.

Leave a Reply

